books · costume · dress · fabric · projects

Resource haul!

At the moment I’m doing a lot of research about costume making.

I’ve been reading lots of websites, looking at lots of pictures and reading lots of books! I have a lot of new things for my bookshelf so, it’s time for my first ‘haul’ post!

The first new resource is a magazine!

sew vintage magazine review

sew vintage magazine 1940s It goes through each decade, with chapters on the 20’s to the 60’s. Each chapter has lots of information about fashion trends, patterns, famous designers, pattern companies, and a lot of other stuff.

The magazine came with these two original, Vogue patterns:

Here is a bit of the boiled wool I’m using for the coat:

purple boiled wool for 1950s jacket

I also got given these sewing reference books:

the sewing book by alison smith  readers digest complete guide to sewing
They are packed with information! Really useful!

And lastly, I got this book from the op shop this afternoon.

the golden age of royalty

the golden age of roalty contents What a find! It has British Monarchy and lots of other kingdoms! I think this is going to be very useful as a costume reference book.

Well that’s all I have for now!

Soon I’ll post about making the 1950’s coat.

Leave a Reply

